My September 11th

image

My September 11th…..

It was a beautiful sunday morning, It was only a few days into school the school year, and my first days of fourth grade. My class had started an earth science project and we paired up to study different rocks. As we picked up the first few rocks my lab partner and I were startled by our computer teacher running into our class room yelling “The Twin Towers has just collapsed.” It did’nt quite hit me, I wouldnt grasp onto what was happening until a few hours later.

All of my classmates ran to the windows and we could see smoke in the distance and people talking on thier cell phones below. My fourth grade teacher Mrs. Candelaria ran into the class room telling us to get away from the windows and sit in our seats. Her face was red, it wasnt anger but extreme sadness like if she was already crying. Little by little all of my friends started getting picked up by their parents then my father came for me. He already had my brother and I looked at his face which was completley frozen.

We started to walk home and I continued to ask my dad what happened but he just replied “Mom will tell you when we get home.” We walked about 5 blocks with fire engines, police cars, and ambulances zooming by us. As we walked up the stairs to our apartment my mother opened the door. “What are you guys doing home?” She didn’t know anything either, our television was out because we had no cable at the time. My dad teary eyed told her “We were bomed, we were attacked, the Twin Towers are gone.” My mom stood ahe nd laughed “What are you tlking about? The win Towers cant come down, there the tallest buildings. No one can knock them down” My dad walked to the living room and told her “No…..there gone, I watched the planes go into them. I saw them fall.”

My mother didnt believe him so he went and turned on his radio. The screams that echoed on our speakers trembled my body. My mother holding my baby sister fell onto the couch holding her head. She nearly fainted. Our downstairs neighbor Marie knocked on our door. my mom answered and Marie asked her if we were ok. My mom proceeded to ask her if it was possible to go down to her apartment to watch the news because she had cable. We all went down stairs I brought my cat beacuse I thought the world was actually ending. We all watched wide eyed as they replayed the planes hitting the towers. I didn’t know what to do, I was scared of what was happening. The days after I would have nightmares of planes being rammed down into the block I lived on.

Today I live in Pennsylvania, now 20 years old, out of highschool, going into college, I can still recall every moment of that day. September 11th 2001 was my nightmare it was an event that will live on in our memories. My 2 baby sisters now 12 and 2 dont really know anything about it, and its up to us the older generation to remind the younger generation of what happened.

Leave a Reply

